Redevco

Client: Redevco
Location: Genk 
Surface: 7170 m² (phase 1) - 11.500 m² (phase 2)
Timing: 2009 (phase 1) - 2013 - (phase 2)
Status: realized 

© BB

Technical Renovation Support I Roofs & Roof parking lots

Since 2001, Bureau Bouwtechniek realized various technical assignments for Redevco (a major player in the real estate and retail market). BB regularly screens buildings in function of a commercial valuation for possible future purchases and to determine maintenance forecasts for various buildings of their heritage.

For several C&A, Carrefour, Hema, Inno and numerous other retail branches of Redevco, Bureau Bouwtechniek has realized many renovations of concrete roofs and roof parking lots over the last 13 years.

Study
Based on an initial thorough analytical examination (whether or not through deconstruction), together with an indication of possible implementation scenarios and related budget provisions, the client determines if a renovation is feasible budgetary wise and / or necessary within their operational structure and patrimony management strategy.

Implementation
To effectively proceed to an actual scale renovation, BB provides the completely detailed preliminary examination, the renovation design with estimate, the evaluation of price quotations, assistance in price negotiations and meticulous technical site monitoring at short notice within the specified and agreed realistic guidelines drawn up in consultation with the client and Bureau Bouwtechniek.

If desired, Bureau Bouwtechniek is also responsible for the preparation of the safety file and safety monitoring during execution of the work.

Team BB: ing. Freya Michiels, ir. arch. Dorien De Bonte, arch. ass. Ken Coolsaet, arch. ass. Tuur Van Dyck

Case: Shopping 1 (Genk)
Shopping 1 in Genk was opened in 1968 as the first Belgian shopping centre modelled on the successful malls in the United States. The complex included 56 shops. From the beginning parking spaces and direct access to the complex were provided on the roof. 

Due to the deflection of the support structure (from age) and consecutive harsh winters resulting in water-logging, an acute demand for a major roof renovation arose in the early 2000s. In addition, a general renovation and potential expansion in the longer term were already envisaged.

The clients, an association of owners including the principal owner Redevco at that time, hired Bureau Bouwtechniek to carry out the urgent roof renovations, in 2007.

After investigation, BB opted for the Parking Roof 110 system with large-size tiles from the company Zoontjens. The system allows a phased implementation by which discomfort for the Shopping 1 customers could be limited. In addition, the system is demountable, reusable and can be deployed in future projects. These advantages were decisive in relation to another system whereby a conventional, in situ casted concrete layer, finished with an abrasion resistant waterproofing, is used.

In 2009, the roof renovation was carried out. Four years later, the plan for the renovation and expansion of the Shopping 1 also became concrete and was completed in December 2014. Shopping 1 has been expanded with 11,500 m² of shopping space or 42 stores. On the roof, 4 retail units are installed. Along with these new volumes, parking space is also provided, furnished with recuperated tiles. As with the roof renovation work, the majority of the shops remained open and parking capacity was guaranteed.

Redevco

Maître d'ouvrage: Redevco
Lieu: Genk  
Superficie: 7170 m² (phase 1) - 11.500 m² (phase 2) 
Timing: 2009 (phase 1) - 2013 - (phase 2) 
Avancement: récetionné 

© BB

Assistance technique à la rénovation I Toiture & toitures-parkings

Pour Redevco (un grand acteur sur le marché de l'immobilier et de la vente) le Bureau Bouwtechniek a réalisé depuis 2001 plusieurs missions techniques. Le BB inspecte régulièrement les immeubles pour évaluer leur valeur en vue d'une éventuelle acquisition et établit des pronostics d'entretien pour différents immeubles de leur patrimoine.

Pour plusieurs sites de C&A, Carrefour, Hema, Inno et autres immeubles commerciaux de Redevco, le Bureau Bouwtechniek a effectué au cours des 13 dernières années de nombreuses rénovations de toitures et toitures parkings.

Étude
A partir d'un premier examen préliminaire analytique en profondeur (destructif ou non) et de l'indication de plusieurs scénarios de réalisation accompagnés d'une estimation des coûts, le maître d'ouvrage choisit de réaliser ou non une rénovation en fonction de sa faisabilité budgétaire et/ou de la nécessité à l'intérieur de la structure de travail et de la stratégie de gestion du patrimoine.

Réalisation
Pour la réalisation effective d'une rénovation de grande ampleur, le BB exécute l'étude préliminaire détaillée dans son ensemble, le projet de rénovation et l'estimation du coût, l'évaluation des offres, l'assistance pour la négociation des prix et le suivi technique minutieux du chantier à court terme selon les directives réalistes convenues et établies conjointement entre le commanditaire et le Bureau Bouwtechniek.

Selon les souhaits du maître d'ouvrage, le Bureau Bouwtechniek prend également en charge le dossier de sécurité et le contrôle de la sécurité pendant la réalisation des travaux.

Team BB: ing. Freya Michiels, ir. arch. Dorien De Bonte, arch. ass. Ken Coolsaet, arch. ass. Tuur Van Dyck

Case : Shopping 1 (Genk)
Shopping 1 à Genk a ouvert ses portes en 1968. Ce fut le premier shopping center inspiré des shopping malls fort appréciés aux Etats Unis. Le complexe comporte 56 commerces. Dès le départ, un parking était prévu en toiture ainsi qu'un accès direct au complexe. 

En raison de la flèche de la structure portante (vieillissement) qui provoquait aussi la stagnation d'eau, et suite aux hivers sévères, une rénovation en profondeur de la toiture s'avérait indispensable au début des années 2000. En outre, on parlait déjà, à cette époque, d'une grande rénovation de l'ensemble et d'une extension éventuelle à long terme.

Les commanditaires, l'association des propriétaires dont Redevco était à l'époque le principal, ont désigné en 2007 le Bureau Bouwtechniek pour l'exécution des travaux de toiture urgents. Après examen de la situation, le BB a opté pour le système Parak 110 avec un revêtement en dalles de parking de grand format de Zoontjens. Le système permet une réalisation en phases afin de limiter les nuisances pour les clients du Shopping 1. En outre, le système est démontable et réutilisable dans d'autres projets. Ces avantages ont privilégié ce choix par rapport à d'autres systèmes plus courants, de type béton coulé sur place recouvert d'une étanchéité résistante à l'usure.

La rénovation de toiture a été exécutée en 2009. Quatre ans plus tard, le plan de la rénovation et l'extension du Shopping 1 se concrétisait avec une superficie commerciale de 11.500 m² soit 42 commerces. En toiture, 4 unités commerciales sont prévues. Sur ces nouveaux volumes, des parkings sont également réalisés où les dalles récupérées peuvent être utilisées. Comme lors de la rénovation des toitures, la plupart des commerces restent opératoires tandis que la capacité de parking est garantie. La fin des travaux est prévue en décembre 2014.