Royale Belge

Client: Souverain 25 NV
Location: Brussels
Surface: 39.174 m²
Timing: 2020
Status: finished - with the exception of fire advice

Technical advice I Façade engineering
Technical advice I EPB

The building of the former Royale Belge, which was used by AXA until 2017, is an emblematic monument from the 1970s with its most striking features being the orange windows and the corten steel frame. 

Bureau Bouwtechniek was contacted by the owner of Royale Belge to provide an overview of the building and to carry out a feasibility study with a view to converting the office building into a complex for mixed use: a hotel, coworking rooms and a fitness and wellness centre, while respecting the property value of the building.

Bureau Bouwtechniek was responsible for the following advice:

  • Destructive investigation and roof advice  
  • Daylight advice and glass advice, taking account of the heritage value and special properties of the original glazing 
  • EPB and building code analysis   
  • Fire advice  
  • Destructive testing (in collaboration with Grove+) and facade detail advice 

EPB advice and reporting
BB is responsible for the EPB advice during the design phase (and further reporting during execution and after delivery) and the integrated feasibility study. 

The feasibility study will examine the possibility of pursuing passive construction for the renovation of the building, in addition to using renewable energy sources. For the offices in the tower, a dynamic simulation is carried out, in which different building envelope measures (insulation of façade, choice of glazing) are examined. Prior to this, a thermal analysis of the opaque façade is carried out.

 

Building node analysis
A thermal analysis is carried out for the facade of the tower, the concrete structure under the tower and the roof structure of the former restaurant. The energy performance is investigated for different insulation scenarios, including the risk of surface condensation and/or mould growth.

 

Team BB: prof. arch. Jan Moens, arch. ass. Tuur Van Dijck, ing. Martijn Vyncke, ir. arch. Robbe Verelst, ir. arch. Nadja Van Houten, arch. Raf De Preter

Royale Belge

Maître d'ouvrage: Souverain 25 NV
Lieu: Bruxelles
Superficie: 39.174 m²
Timing: 2020
Avançement: terminée - à l'exception des conseils en matière d'incendie

Conseils techniques I Façades Engineering
Conseil technique I EPR

Le bâtiment de l'ancienne Royale Belge, qui a été utilisé par AXA jusqu'en 2017, est un monument emblématique des années 1970, dont les caractéristiques les plus frappantes sont les fenêtres orange et la charpente en acier corten. 

Bureau Bouwtechniek a été contacté par le propriétaire de la Royale Belge pour fournir une vue d'ensemble du bâtiment et réaliser une étude de faisabilité en vue de convertir l'immeuble de bureaux en un complexe à usage mixte : un hôtel, des salles de coworking et un centre de fitness et de bien-être, tout en respectant la valeur immobilière du bâtiment.

Bureau Bouwtechniek était responsable des conseils suivants :

  • Investigation destructive et conseils sur le toit  
  • Conseils en matière de lumière naturelle et de verre, en tenant compte de la valeur patrimoniale et des propriétés spéciales du vitrage d'origine. 
  • Analyse de l'EPR et du code du bâtiment   
  • Conseils en matière d'incendie  
  • Essais destructifs (en collaboration avec Grove+) et conseils sur les détails de la façade.  

Conseils et rapports de la EPR
BB est responsable des conseils de l'EPR pendant la phase de conception (et des rapports ultérieurs pendant l'exécution et après la livraison) et de l'étude de faisabilité intégrée. 

L'étude de faisabilité examinera la possibilité de recourir à la construction passive pour la rénovation du bâtiment, en plus de l'utilisation de sources d'énergie renouvelables. Pour les bureaux de la tour, une simulation dynamique est réalisée, dans laquelle différentes mesures de l'enveloppe du bâtiment (isolation de la façade, choix du vitrage) sont examinées. Au préalable, une analyse thermique de la façade opaque est réalisée.

 

Analyse des nœuds de construction
Une analyse thermique est réalisée pour la façade de la tour, la structure en béton sous la tour et la structure du toit de l'ancien restaurant. La performance énergétique est ainsi étudiée pour différents scénarios d'isolation, y compris le risque de condensation de surface et/ou de développement de moisissures.

  

Team BB: prof. arch. Jan Moens, arch. ass. Tuur Van Dijck, ing. Martijn Vyncke, ir. arch. Robbe Verelst, ir. arch. Nadja Van Houten, arch. Raf De Preter