Campus Paardenmarkt

Architect: TV DMT – MAAT_WERK architecten with Bureau Bouwtechniek
Client: Universiteit Antwerpen
Advisors: Botec (technieken), Macobo-Stabo (stabiliteit), Vicave (EPB)
Location: Antwerp
Surface: 7.348 m²
Timing: 2018 - 2023
Budget: € 17.000.000
Status: realized

© Sarah Blee
Photo: FelixArchief
Design images: TV DMT-MAAT_WERK architecten

Project support I Collaboration
Technical advice I Circular Building

Renovation, restoration and extension of the City Campus Paardenmarkt of the University of Antwerp. 

Winner heritage gem 2023

Modern city campus
The site that houses the department Project Development of Antwerp University will become a modern city campus in the old city centre. The existing buildings on the site will be renovated, restored and supplemented with new volumes. The site will provide classrooms, woodworking and metalworking workshops, multipurpose work areas, exhibition rooms, etc.

A thorough historical analysis of the buildings and an in-depth inventory and analysis of the materials present form the basis of the design, with maximum effort being made to retain the valuable components of the historical campus buildings.

BIM

Bureau Bouwtechniek modelled the BIM model of the existing buildings to be renovated and the extension of the buildings. There was also a section on the site for restoration, for which DMT drew up the plans itself. These plans were included in the BIM model to obtain a total picture of the site.

The gross floor area of the project is 7,348 m² and 5,495 elements were measured from the BIM model.

Circular building

Campus Paardenmarkt is part of a subsidized project 'School building projects circularly tendered? Yes we can!" by Flanders Circular. During the renovation of two buildings on a school campus of the UAntwerpen, the project team is convinced of the benefits of circular construction.

BB draws up a complete demolition inventory and also monitors the material flow during the course of the execution. From the design phase, the work is done with respect for the building and the valuable elements present. During the tendering phase, BB examines the possibilities of circular tendering in public projects. BB coordinates the circular demolition of valuable elements that are not being reused here with external parties, so that they can be used in other projects. 

(read more about the research on circular tendering)

Bureau Bouwtechniek
BB is responsible for providing construction technical support of DMT architects from the preliminary design stage onward and is responsible for technical assistance during the design process, drawing up the architectural specifications, developing technical drawings and tender plans, estimating and supervising the execution.

Team BB: arch. Barbara Arts, arch. Bert van den Bergh, Glenn Verdykt, ir. arch. Gretel De Smet, ir. arch. Katrien Van Lierop, ir. arch. Nadja Van Houten, arch. ass. Kati Van der Borght

Campus Paardenmarkt

Architecte: TV DMT – MAAT_WERK architecten avec Bureau Bouwtechniek
Maître d'ouvrage: Universiteit Antwerpen
Conseillers: Botec (technieken), Macobo-Stabo (stabiliteit), Vicave (EPB)
Lieu: Anvers
Superficie: 7.348 m²
Timing: 2018 - 2023
Budget: € 17.000.000
Avancement: réceptionnée

© Sarah Blee
Photo: FelixArchief
Images de design: TV DMT-MAAT_WERK architecten

Assistance projet I Coóperation
Conseil technique |  Construction Circulaire

Rénovation, restauration et extension du City Campus Paardenmarkt de l'Université d'Anvers

Lauréat gemme du patrimoine 2023

Un campus urbain moderne
Le site, qui abrite le département de développement de projets de l'université d'Anvers, deviendra un campus urbain moderne dans le vieux centre ville. Les bâtiments existants sur le site seront rénovés, restaurés et complétés par de nouveaux volumes de construction. Le site comprendra des salles de classe, des ateliers de travail du bois et des métaux, des lieux de travail polyvalents, des salles d'exposition, etc.

Une analyse historique approfondie des bâtiments ainsi qu'un inventaire et une analyse approfondis des matériaux présents constituent la base de la conception, un effort maximal étant fait pour conserver les éléments précieux des bâtiments historiques du campus.

BIM

Bureau Bouwtechniek a modélisé le modèle BIM des bâtiments existants à rénover et de l'extension des bâtiments. Il y avait également une partie du site à restaurer, pour laquelle DMT a réalisé elle-même les plans. Ces plans ont été intégrés dans le modèle BIM afin d'obtenir une image globale du site.

La surface brute du projet est de 7 348 m² et 5 495 éléments ont été mesurés à partir du modèle BIM.

Bâtiment circulaire

Le Campus Paardenmarkt fait partie d'un projet subventionné "Projets de construction d'écoles soumis à un appel d'offres circulaire ? Yes we can !" par Vlaanderen Circulair. La rénovation de deux bâtiments sur un campus scolaire à UAntwerp a convaincu l'équipe du projet des avantages de la construction circulaire.

BB établit un inventaire complet des démolitions et surveille également les flux de matériaux pendant le déroulement du chantier. Dès la phase de conception, les travaux sont réalisés dans le respect du bâtiment et des éléments de valeur présents. Pendant la phase d'appel d'offres, BB examine les possibilités d'appel d'offres circulaire dans les projets publics. BB coordonne la démolition circulaire des éléments de valeur qui ne sont pas réutilisés icic avec des parties extérieures, afin qu'ils puissent être utilisés dans d'autres projets. 

(En savoir plus sur la recherche sur les marchés publics circulaires)

Bureau Bouwtechniek
BB assume l'ensemble de l'assistance technique constructive pour le bureau d'architecture DMT dès la phase de conception préliminaire et est responsable de l'assistance technique pendant le processus de conception, pour l'élaboration des spécifications architecturales, l'élaboration des dessins techniques et des plans d'appel d'offres, l'estimation et la supervision de l'exécution.

Team BB: arch. Barbara Arts, arch. Bert van den Bergh, Glenn Verdykt, ir. arch. Gretel De Smet, ir. arch. Katrien Van Lierop, ir. arch. Nadja Van Houten, arch. ass. Kati Van der Borght