Waasland Shopping Center

Client: AEW Europe
Advisors: Tecon (stabiliteit), Arcadis (parkeren en circuleren) 
Contractor: Zolderse Dakwerken 
Surface: 36.000 m²  
Timing:  2017 - 
Budget: 12.000.000 € 
Status: in execution

Technical renovation guidance I Roof parking - Technical advice I Safety coordination

Complete renovation of the rooftop car park of Waasland Shopping Center in Sint-Niklaas

The Waasland Shopping Center was built on the southern edge of the centre of Sint-Niklaas in 1972. In 2004, the complex was expanded considerably to no less than 45,000 m2, with 140 shops, car parking facilities all around, and a rooftop car park. The rooftop car park, comprising a total of 28,000 m2, has been completely renewed. 

Feasibility study

Commissioned by the owner of the shopping centre, Bureau Bouwtechniek researched the technically best, most sustainable and economically feasible roof structure taking into account :

  • the integral sustainability of the structure,  
  • maintenance,  
  • the lifespan,  
  • accessibility  
  • and energy consumption. 

An important part of the study is a thorough examination of the possibilities of the systems available on the market on the basis of the parameters set, their technical properties and available references. 

On the basis of the analysis of the preconditions and the available systems, the parking roof system was determined with which the design process can be continued.

Challenge

The load-bearing capacity of the envisaged structure only allows for a limited build-up package. A light package consisting of mortar - EPS system, bituminous waterproofing and cast asphalt was previously chosen. Today, the roof suffers from infiltration, penetration and cracking of the cast asphalt.  

The feasibility study also examined the possibility of insulating the roof according to current EPB regulations, with a U-value of 0.24 W/m²K. As the current roof structure was insulated to a limited extent, with a thin roof structure, the raising of the roof package has a major impact on the connections at the level of the driving ramp, access doors and eaves. In function of the stability, the additional weight must be limited. The insulation has to be made of a single layer in order to absorb the horizontal forces.

Taking this complexity into account, a TOTEM analysis was carried out to investigate the environmental impact of the new roof package. Different insulation thicknesses were compared, assuming an inverted roof with XPS insulation, comparing material and energy costs. The U-values of the different structures were adjusted in function of the EPB calculations for the roof, in order to take into account the correction factor for the water infiltration between the insulation panels that is possible with a reversing roof. Based on the different starting points and boundary conditions, it was decided to limit the insulation thickness to 60mm.

Pardak®80 was chosen for the roof package.

Phased work

The renovation will be carried out in 3 phases. In this way, the roof remains available at all times. 

Bureau Bouwtechniek
BB took care of the investigation, supervised the renovation of the roof parking, supervised the execution and is safety coordinator.

BB-team: Wim Rymenants, ing. Freya Michiels, prof. arch. Jan Moens, ir. arch. Robbe Verelst

Waasland Shopping Center

Maître d'ouvrage: AEW Europe
Conseillers: Tecon (stabiliteit), Arcadis (parkeren en circuleren)
Entrepreneur: Zolderse Dakwerken
Superficie: 36.000 m² 
Timing:  2017 -
Budget: 12.000.000 €
Avancement: en exécution

Assistance technique à la renovation I Toitures-parkings - Conseils technique I Coordination de sécurité

Rénovation totale de la toiture-parking du Waasland Shopping Center à Saint-Nicolas

Le Waasland Shopping Center est situé à la périphérie sud du centre-ville de Saint- Nicolas et date déjà de 1972. En 2004, le complexe a été considérablement agrandi pour atteindre pas moins de 45.000 mètres carrés, avec 140 magasins, un parking autour du complexe et une toiture-parking. La toiture -parking, d’une superficie totale de 28.000 mètres carrés, est actuellement en pleine rénovation. 

Étude de faisabilité

À la demande du propriétaire du centre commercial, Bureau Bouwtechniek a effectué des recherches sur la structure de toit la meilleure sur le plan technique, la plus durable et la plus économiquement réalisable, en tenant compte de :

  • la durabilité intégrale de la structure,  
  • l'entretien,  
  • la durée de vie,  
  • l'accessibilité  
  • et la consommation d'énergie. 

Une partie importante de l'étude consiste en un examen approfondi des possibilités des systèmes disponibles sur le marché sur la base des paramètres fixés, de leurs propriétés techniques et des références disponibles. 

L'analyse des conditions préalables et des systèmes disponibles a permis de déterminer le système de toit de parking avec lequel le processus de conception peut être poursuivi.

Défi

La capacité portante de la structure fournie ne permet qu'un montage limité. Un ensemble léger composé d'un mortier - système EPS, d'un imperméabilisant bitumineux et d'un asphalte coulé a été choisi au préalable. Aujourd'hui, le toit souffre d'infiltration, de pénétration et de fissuration de l'asphalte de coulée.  

L'étude de faisabilité a également examiné la possibilité d'isoler le toit selon la réglementation EPB actuelle, avec une valeur U de 0,24 W/m²K. Comme la structure actuelle du toit était peu isolée, avec une structure de toit mince, le relèvement de l'ensemble du toit a un impact majeur sur les fixations au niveau de la rampe de conduite, des portes d'accès et des avant-toits. En fonction de la stabilité, le poids supplémentaire doit être limité. L'isolation doit être constituée d'une seule couche afin d'absorber les forces horizontales.

Compte tenu de cette complexité, une analyse TOTEM a été réalisée pour étudier l'impact environnemental du nouveau paquet de toits. Différentes épaisseurs d'isolation ont été comparées, en supposant un toit inversé avec une isolation XPS, en comparant les coûts des matériaux et de l'énergie. La valeur U des différentes structures a été ajustée en fonction des calculs de l'EPB pour le toit, afin de prendre en compte le facteur de correction pour l'infiltration d'eau entre les panneaux d'isolation qui est possible avec un toit inversé. Sur la base des différents points de départ et des conditions limites, il a été décidé de limiter l'épaisseur de l'isolation à 60 mm.

Le Pardak®80 a été choisi pour l'ensemble du toit.

Travail par étapes

La rénovation sera réalisée en 3 phases. De cette manière, le toit restera toujours disponible pour les visiteurs du centre commercial.

Bureau Bouwtechniek
BB s'est chargé de l'enquête, a supervisé la rénovation du toit, a supervisé l'exécution et est coordinateur de la sécurité.

BB-team: Wim Rymenants, ing. Freya Michiels, prof. arch. Jan Moens, ir. arch. Robbe Verelst