Casino Middelkerke

Architect: Zwarts&Jansma with Bureau Bouwtechniek and Oever Zaaijer 
Client: Gemeente Middelkerke
Developer: Ciril 
Advisors: DELVA (landscape architect), Plantec (technical designer exterior construction), Cobe (stability), VK Engineering (techniques, acoustics), Witteveen-Bos (study sea wall), Beersnielsen (lighting design), Actiflow (wind study), Mint (mobility), Sertius 
Surface: building ca. 15.000 m² / exterior construction: ca. 27.000 m²
Budget: € 38.986.706 (+ reconstruction of Place Epernay and seawall: € 2.011.535)
Timing: 2020 - 
Status: in design phase

Project Support I Collaboration
Technical Advice I Sustainability, 
Safety Coordination & EPR

Façade Engineering

Construction of a new casino in Middelkerke with restaurant with terrace, foyer, event hall with seating for 1,700 people, games room, underground parking and a hotel with 60 rooms. The gaming room will have a sea view. Place Epernay will be shifted towards the sea. On top of the dune there will be a green, park-like square where events can take place.

Integral approach

The construction of the new casino building was conceived by the designers as a means of also working on water safety (dyke reinforcement), the quality of the public space, making the sea dyke car-free and connecting the Epernayplein with the sea. 

What is unique about this design is that the building typology of a casino - often a closed box - is turned inside out and integrated into a multifaceted project in a public dune landscape. It transforms the seafront into a unique destination for meeting, playing, culture and entertainment along the Belgian coast.

Sustainable

Finite energy sources are used sustainably by avoiding waste in the first place, but also by using recycled materials and applying more efficient production processes. 

Environmental criteria are as important as functionality, aesthetics, ergonomics, safety and economic value. A good example of a well-considered, energy-saving application in the project is the cantilevering dune on top of the ground floor and the terraces of the hotel tower. These cantilevers protrude from the external joinery and provide shade in the hot summer months. In combination with night cooling, this will significantly reduce the demand for active cooling.

Bureau Bouwtechniek
BB is responsible for providing complete structural engineering support to the architects during the design process, preparation of the execution plans, development of technical details, preparation of the architectural specifications and estimate.  BB leads the control of the execution and is EPB reporter and sustainability advisor.

Team BB: ir. arch. Elien Coppitters, ir. arch. Thijs Verfaillie, ir. arch. Marleen Meulenbergs, ir. arch. Jona Van Steenkiste, ir. arch. Dana Dee, ir. arch. Katrien Van Lierop, ir. arch. Febe Lanckmans

Casino Middelkerke

Architecte: Zwarts&Jansma avec Bureau Bouwtechniek et Oever Zaaijer 
Maître d'ouvrage: Gemeente Middelkerke
Développeur: Ciril 
Conseillers: DELVA (architecte paysage), Plantec (concepteur technique de la construction extérieure), Cobe (stabilité), VK Engineering (techniques, acoustique), Witteveen-Bos (étude de la digue), Beersnielsen (conception de l'éclairage), Actiflow (étude de vent), Mint (mobilité), Sertius 
Superficie: bätiment ca. 15.000 m² / aménagment exetérieur: ca. 27.000 m²
Budget: € 38.986.706 (+ reconstruction de la place Epernay et de la digue de mer: € 2.011.535)
Timing: 2020 - 
Avancement: en projet

Assistance projet I Coóperation
Conseil technique |  Durabilité, 
Coordination Sécurité & EPR

Façade Engineering

Construction d'un nouveau casino à Middelkerke avec un restaurant avec terrasse, un foyer, une salle de réception pouvant accueillir 1 700 personnes, une salle de jeux, un parking souterrain et un hôtel de 60 chambres. La salle de jeu aura une vue sur la mer. La place d'Epernay sera déplacée vers la mer. Au sommet de la dune se trouvera une place verte ressemblant à un parc où des événements pourront avoir lieu.

Approche intégrale

Les concepteurs ont conçu la construction du nouveau bâtiment du casino comme un moyen de travailler également sur la sécurité de l'eau (renforcement des digues), la qualité de l'espace public, l'interdiction des voitures sur la digue et la connexion de l'Epernayplein avec la mer. 

Le caractère unique de cette conception réside dans le fait que la typologie de construction d'un casino - souvent une boîte fermée - est retournée et intégrée dans un projet à multiples facettes dans un paysage public de dunes. Il transforme le front de mer en une destination unique pour les rencontres, les loisirs, la culture et les divertissements le long de la côte belge.

Durable

Les sources d'énergie finies sont utilisées de manière durable en évitant les déchets en premier lieu, mais aussi en utilisant des matériaux recyclés et en appliquant des processus de production plus efficaces. 

Les critères environnementaux sont aussi importants que la fonctionnalité, l'esthétique, l'ergonomie, la sécurité et la valeur économique. La dune en porte-à-faux au-dessus du rez-de-chaussée et des terrasses de la tour de l'hôtel est un bel exemple d'une application réfléchie permettant d'économiser de l'énergie dans le projet. Ces porte-à-faux, en relation avec les menuiseries extérieures, permettent de faire de l'ombre pendant les mois chauds de l'été. En combinaison avec le refroidissement nocturne, cela réduira considérablement la demande de refroidissement actif.

Bureau Bouwtechniek
BB assume l'ensemble de l'assistance technique constructive pour les architectes au cours du processus de conception, de la préparation des plans d'exécution, du développement des détails techniques, de la préparation des spécifications architecturales et du devis. BB supervise l'exécution et est un reporter de l'EPB et un conseiller en matière de durabilité.

Team BB: ir. arch. Elien Coppitters, ir. arch. Thijs Verfaillie, ir. arch. Marleen Meulenbergs, ir. arch. Jona Van Steenkiste, ir. arch. Dana Dee, ir. arch. Katrien Van Lierop, ir. arch. Febe Lanckmans